África Oriental

Português, Portugal

África Oriental

é a região oriental do continente Africano, variavelmente definido pela geografia ou geopolítica. No esquema das regiões geográficas da ONU há 20 territórios constituintes na África Oriental:
  • Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi – these are typically referred to as East Africa, and are members of the East African Community (EAC). Burundi and Rwanda are sometimes considered part of Central Africa, and Uganda, Burundi and Rwanda are sometimes considered part of the African Great Lakes region as well.
  • Comoros, Mauritius and Seychelles – small island nations in the Indian Ocean.
  • Réunion and Mayotte – French overseas territories also in the Indian Ocean.
  • South Sudan – newly independent from Sudan.

In addition:

  • Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia – collectively known as the Horn of Africa, are sometimes considered to be part of Eastern Africa.

( some photos were taken from the net )