East Africa


Eastern Africa


East Africa

is the easterly region of the African continent, variably defined by geography or geopolitics. In the UN scheme of geographic regions, there are 20 territories:
  • - Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi – these are typically referred to as East Africa, and are members of the East African Community (EAC). Burundi and Rwanda are sometimes considered part of Central Africa, and Uganda, Burundi and Rwanda are sometimes considered part of the African Great Lakes region as well.
  • - Comoros, Mauritius and Seychelles – small island nations in the Indian Ocean.
  • - Réunion and Mayotte – French overseas territories also in the Indian Ocean.
  • - South Sudan – newly independent from Sudan.

In addition:

  • - Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia – collectively known as the Horn of Africa, are sometimes considered to be part of Eastern Africa.

( some photos were taken from the net )